Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Function: The Board of Directors shall determine the policies of the organization, see that the objectives and guidelines defined by the bylaws are carried out, and hire salaried persons.

Composition: The Board of Directors shall be composed of the officers,  the Immediate Past President, Chairpersons of the following standing committees, Chairpersons of selections, Chairperson of the Regional Network, and Liaisons to the Board.  The Executive Secretary shall be a non-voting member of the Board of Directors.

Residency: All members of the Board of Directors shall reside and/or be employed in South Carolina and shall be active members of the Association.

Chairperson: The President shall serve as Chairperson of the Board of Directors.

Meetings: The Board of Directors shall meet a minimum of four times a year.  A board orientation shall be held annually.

Meeting dates for 2017-2018 are:

July 12-13 Summer Retreat, Dorman High School, Roebuck, SC
September 9 Online
November 18 Online
January 27 Davis College, Columbia, SC
March 14 Hyatt Regency, Greenville Downtown (at Conference)
May 5 Davis College, Columbia, SC

Members are welcome to attend board meetings. Contact the president to obtain the specific location or online details and time of the meetings. 

Special Called Meetings:  Special meetings of the Board of Directors may be called by the President or by the Executive Committee, and shall be called upon the written request of three members of the Board.  Only the business specified in the notice shall be transacted.

Quorum:  A majority of the voting members of the Board of Directors shall constitute a quorum.

2017-2018 Board of Directors:
 

Executive Committee: 

 

 

President 

Cathy Jo Nelson

president@scasl.net 

President-Elect 

Heather Thore

president.elect@scasl.net

Secretary 

Susan Myers

secretary@scasl.net

Treasurer 

Gloria Coleman 

glorysee@hotmail.com 

Immediate Past President 

Cindy Symonds

Past.president@scasl.net

Regional Network Director 

Elizabeth Bryant

regional.network@scasl.net

Standing Committees: 

 

 

Advocacy 

Ayanna Mayers

AyannaMayes@gmail.com

Archives & History 

Ljubica Arceneaux 

ljubica.arceneaux@richlandone.org

Awards 

Pamela Williams

Pamela.williams@richlandone.org

 

Book Awards 

Aleisha Ainsworth

book.awards@scasl.net

Bylaws 

Angela Durham

adurham@lexrich5.org

Editorial 

Travis Nelson

travis.nelson@richlandone.org

Information Technology 

Julianne Kaye 

infotech@scasl.net 

Intellectual Freedom 

Wendy Rollins

 craftingourlife@gmail.com

 

Legislative 

Tamara Cox 

coxt@apps.anderson1.org

Pre-Service Education 

Elizabeth Graham

libscigal@gmail.com

Public Awareness 

Deborah Palmer 

Deborah_Palmer@charleston.k12.sc.us 

Standards & Guidelines 

Kristie Haltiwanger

khaltiwa@richland2.org

Sections: 

 

 

Paraprofessional 

Irish Anderson 

irish.anderson@richlandone.org

Retired  

 Elizabeth Gregory

scafmom@gmail.com

Special Public/Independent 

Elizabeth Wain 

ewain@coksm.org

Supervisors 

Shannon Ryan

sryan2@hotmail.com

Liaisons:

 

 

SC DOE Representative 

Regina Thurmond 

rthurmond@ed.sc.gov 

SC Library Association 

Jenny Dilworth

 jdilworth@richlandlibrary.com

USC-SLIS 

Karen Gavigan 

kgavigan@mailbox.sc.edu 

Presidential Advisor: 

Heather Loy

hloy@mac.com

Executive Secretary: 

Diane Ervin 

ervinscasl@gmail.com 

SCASL Audit Chair

Jennifer Tazerouti

Tazerouti@gmail.com

 

SCASL Mailing Address:                                                                 
PO BOX 2442                                                  
Columbia, SC 29202                                        

SCASL Phone and Fax Number:                 
803 492-3025